Back to Basic


Yesterday, I reinstalled my Julia’s system. I want it be as clean as fresh installed system. Not really :p . The main reason of the reinstalation was the setting of my system was broken. Not that bad, but still, it bothered me. And I still use the Windows 7-look theme I got from one of the most active Ubuntu forums in Indonesia.
One thing that annoyed me, it doesn’t work on Lisa. So I think, it can’t be used on Gnome3. Personally, I don’t take it as a big deal. Gnome3 has so many great themes. I love the themed Gnome shell, so that’s why I switched to Linux Mint. As you know, Ubuntu doesn’t use Gnome shell as default. Instead, it uses so-hated Unity shell. Hey, it’s not like I hate Unity that much. It helped me a lot. Just have to hit the Windows button, then scroll up to find an app or file. But, I don’t like the interface. Unity isn’t customizable. So, for those who like to customize their destop (mainly the interface or theme), Unity sucks. I prefer Gnome shell because it has the function of Unity I mentioned plus the ability to be customized.
But, I just don’t understand why can’t I change the GTK theme on Lisa. Is it Linux Mint’s policy, or it just a bad/broken configuration in my mach. Don’t want to do a reinstallation. I just got enough. Besides, I use my mach for work. So I need a stable one but can be customized a little. I don’t want to do a heavy customization if it has the potent to destroy my system. That’s what I call it ‘Back to Basic’.