Met A Nice Parent on Carwash


Well, today I went to a carwash. I saw a man with his son. I didn’t really care about it at first, thinking that they’re just another customer. But then I realized that the man didn’t have his phone out and effectively didn’t let his kid playing with it. Instead he chose the nicer way. He played a small version of Snake and Ladder board game to entertain his son. Nice move, man. In this world that is increasingly going digital, he went to the exact opposite.

Well, turned out, he’s the police hero of the Thamrin Bomb few years ago. He’s got promoted one step upward, got a house, and the chance to choose where he wants to be placed. He chose his birthplace. Where did I get this info? The owner of the carwash was a police officer too. He told me all of this. Nice, huh?

Actually, I also am interested in playing a more traditional game. I currently set my eyes on Dungeons and Dragons. Why? Well, I LOVE fantasy. Any kind. Science fiction? High fantasy? Bring them on! That’s why I’m reading Redwall.

But the thing is, I have no access to Dungeons and Dragons whatsoever. Local community? Doesn’t exist. Too bad because I think it can be used for a means of parenting. Particularly bonding, decision making, and risk management.

In this board game (okay, technically it’s a tabletop RPG, but I think it can still be categorized as board game due to the use of map), the decision you make doesn’t always have immediate effect. It might affect you or your surroundings long after that decision is made. That way, I think I will have the chance to teach a thing or two about the consequences of the decisions. And probably I can understand my kids better. I might have to add another category for this blog under “parenting” or so.

Well, what am I saying? I don’t even have any kid yet. LOL..