[(Almost)FIX]Another Pangolin ‘Bug’


Two days ago, I encountered another bug. I don’t really know whether this is really a bug or just a misconfigured machine on my own. But it is somehow irritating. Not a level of bother, but rather a nuisance.
I firstly noticed that my Conky scripts don’t show up as usual. I got two scripts on my desktop. And they ended up not showing at all. The pointer movement also a bit off and sometimes it moves between virtual desktops.
I am using the most current kernel from official repo (lts-trusty, forgot the version) and the bug only occurs when I use the switchable GPU mode (which results in using on chip GPU). I got Intel Core i5 450M’s GPU and AMD ATi Mobility Radeon HD 5470 as GPU. When I use the discrete mode (only use the ATi GPU), the bug seems to non-existent. I tried to switch back to older kernel to no different result.
Just use the ATi GPU, you may say. Yeah, it works. But it also make my machine a lot hotter and noisy. I always prefer to use the Intel GPU whenever I don’t do graphic designs. Because it is much cooler and much less noisy. It’s an old machine and I can’t afford to buy a new one, yet. So I do everything to prolong its life. Including just use the Intel GPU, for you know that heat is electrical machine’s enemy.
I don’t know, man. I don’t want to switch back to Windows or upgrade to the latest LTS (Trusty Tahr, 14.04). But the Pangolin is getting annoying day by day. Should I stop updating it? Unsafe move dudes. Unsafe move.

[UPDATE]

The problem corrected itself. I don’t know. It just weird. Still few things off, though. Like the blinking pointer in Chrome.

Posted from WordPress for Android