Being An User of Free and Open Source Softwares Pt. 3


This is the last part of serial post about reason why do I use Linux as my main operating system. In this post, I’ll explain more reason why I use Linux.
Seventh, Linux is way much more stable than Windows. Have you experienced how your Windows system is unreactive and not responsive to your commands and noticed how often those thingy happen? In Linux, you don’t have to deal with such a thing. Linux OS’s do exactly what you command them to do. That’s why I love Linux. Because it never do things that I don’t command it to do.
Eighth, have you experienced that your Windows system runs slower time after time? That’s because of fragmentation of your data. What is the fragmentation exactly? Fragmentation is a condition when your data splitted into several part of your storage (Hard Disk Drive or Flash Drive). So, each time you try to access the data, your computer search in the whole storage to find the matching fragment to form the complete data.
In Linux, there is no such a condition. That’s why Linux systems always fast and stable. IMHO, this is the main advantage of using Linux.
Ninth, the boot time is relatively faster. My Linux Mint Julia boots in less than 10 seconds and Linux Mint Lisa boots under quarter a minute. Meanwhile, my Windows 7 boots in more than a minute. It’s quite a time saving for some users who need their system to be fast, quick, and stable right after the desktop appears.
Honestly, there are still many more reasons why Windows system is less good (if I cannot say worse) than Linux system. But these nine are my personal experience. So I can share them with you. See you on other post. God bless you all..

Sent using Sony Ericsson Elm